It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

I cannot believe it’s the 10th December already although I know it is as it’s the Aussie’s birthday (happy birthday!) so that means we have what 15 days until Christmas!?! How did that happen?

This week I finally baked our Christmas cake. We ended up with two cakes in the end because I had too much batter for the size of our tins but that worked out nicely as I’ve used one of the cakes for the Aussie’s birthday cake.

IMG_6299.JPG
I’ve bought us a Christmas tree but we still need to put that up, maybe this weekend!

Today we had dinner in the city for the Aussie’s birthday and popped by to visit the Christmas tree and decorations which looked pretty nice. I also loved that they were playing Christmas songs, although not sure my singing out loud went down to well!

IMG_6307.JPG
It’s very strange to be in such a tropical location where even in early evening it’s warm and humid and due to the build up to the wet season we’re getting almost daily rainstorms, instead of in the UK where it’s cold and feels much more “christmassy” to me. It’s definitely a strange thing to get used too.

IMG_6311.JPG
We had our work Christmas party last weekend which was so much fun and did make me feel much more festive. It started with drinks at the Ducks Nut which was entertaining because the 12 pubs of Christmas event was underway and the Ducks Nut was one of the stops so we were treated to pub crawlers in all sorts of Christmas States of dress. Yes even topless santas.

IMG_6180.JPG
We had dinner at the amazing Hanuman Restaurant (I only took one picture of the food unfortunately but this oysters were amazing!) before dancing the night away. I felt very very delicate the next day that’s for sure.

IMG_6181.JPG
Even the decorations used here are very different in some ways but are lovely to look at.

IMG_6338.JPG

IMG_6346.JPG

IMG_6317.JPG

Leave a comment